Ganache


Scottish Scones with Lemon and Ginger
June 18, 2009, 1:50 am
Filed under: Breads | Tags: , ,

This title is not my own, nor is this recipe. It belongs to a fellow food-blogger, Orangette. But these little scones happen to be the most delicious that have arisen from my kitchen yet. As I described in my first post not so long ago, I’ve been searching for the perfect scone recipe. I’ve not been satisfied with the ones I’ve tried up to this point. I prefer the traditional almost biscuit-like scones – heavy, yet flaky. Molly, the author of Orangette, states that this recipe orginated from a Scottish woman, a friend of her sister’s, and I think they turn out about as traditional as scones can come. They are pillowy-soft, dense, with little glints of lemon and a sweet warmth from the lemon zest and crystallized ginger. Combined with the sugary tartness of lemon curd and a cup of earl grey, and oh my… I found myself melting back into my seat.

These are best served warm. There are no pictures, sorry. They disappeared too fast and were of the utmost importance to be eaten and cleared off the plate before pictures were even considered. But rest assured, they are beautiful little pockets of joy…

Scottish Scones with Lemon and Ginger

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons (2 ounces) cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
3 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons freshly grated lemon zest
1/4 cup finely chopped crystallized ginger
1/2 cup half and half, plus a dab more for glazing
1 large egg

Preheat oven to 425
In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Using your hands (or I used a pastry blender), rub the butter into the flour mixture, squeezing and pinching with your fingertips until the mixture resembles a coarse meal and there are no butter lumps bigger than a pea. Add the sugar, lemon zest, and crystallized ginger and whisk to incorporate.
Pour 1/2 cup half and half into a small bowl or measuring cup and add the egg. Beat with a fork to combine. Pour the wet ingredients into the flour mixture, and stir gently to just combine. The dough will look dry and shaggy, and there may be some unincorporated flour at the bottom of the bowl. Don’t worry! Using your hands, squeeze and press the dough into a rough mass. Turn he dough and any excess flour onto a board or countertop (I suggest lightly flouring the surface as the dough is very sticky). Press and gather and knead it until it just comes together. NO MORE THAN 12 TIMES! There may be excess flour not combined, but do not worry with this. As soon as dough holds together, pat into a rough circle about 1 inch thick and cut into 8 wedges.
Place the wedges on a parchment lined baking sheet. Pour a splash of half and half into a bowl. Using a pastry brush, gently brush the tops of the scones with a thin coat to glaze. Molly and I differ here, as I sprinkled a scant amount of sugar to the top of the scones as well.
Bake 10-14 minutes until pale golden. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Serve warm. I highly suggest serving with the lemon curd.

Absolutely delicious, enjoy!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] fresh cup of Earl Grey and eating a Scottish scone with lemon and ginger.  The recipe is featured here and in A Homemade Life. If you have not read A Homemade Life, I urge you to take some time and sip […]

Pingback by The Segars Pound Cake « Tea with SB

[…] salad featured here. Or the chicken tamale casserole that has saved many a weeknights for me. These scones were easily transformed into a spring wonder with a little addition of a 1/2 cup frozen blueberries […]

Pingback by Nearly There « Ganache

[…] of my favorite tea time treats is a scone. I’ve blogged about them before. Being on weight watchers, however, I’ve had to find a new, lighter base […]

Pingback by Tea Time Revamped « Ganache




Leave a Reply

