Ganache


Pico de Gallo
July 25, 2009, 5:23 am
Filed under: Appetizers | Tags: ,

I grew up in Dallas, TX, and Mexican food is something that is buried deep within me, a part of my nature. I grew up eating various salsas and Mexican dishes. I’m not afraid of a good jalapeño (or any pepper for that matter). My family even has an enchilada recipe from a Hispanic lady that we used to live close to (that on another day) that’s as traditional and authentic as I’ve found.

I have also mentioned before that my father is an avid gardener. I attempt to be so, but my efforts have been slightly limited this season – only a few plants grew appropriately for me this year. However, one plant that has been prolific has been my jalapeño plant (which can apparently grow despite any circumstance).

Every summer, one dish in particular frequents my fridge, which just so happens to pay hommage to my heritage as well as make use of my jalapeño plant: Pico de Gallo. Many of you may be wondering exactly what Pico is, even though I’m sure that many of you have eaten the dish in your local favorite Mexican restaurant. Pico is a dish, much like salsa, in which the ingredients are not blended smooth, but remain chunky and more true to their original form. The dish is traditionally used as more of a relish to be used on tacos, grilled meats, or enchiladas. But I prefer to make mine slightly juicy and I eat it with practically anything. It pairs wonderfully with tortilla chips (especially the homemade variety), eggs, or any dish that needs to be “kicked up a notch.” I tend to lean heavily on the cilantro and garlic, but you can tweak the dish more for your tastes. I particularly love the acidic twinge with each bite that leaves my taste buds screaming for more. The flavors are bright and reflect summer with every bite, and is sure to make be your family’s new favorite salsa.

Homemade Pico de Gallo

As usual, these measurements are approximations and can be adjusted for your taste and desired flavor. I like mine heavy on the cilantro, garlic, and acidic lime juice with a mild to medium heat. But feel free to adjust, especially when in off season and the veggies are not at full peak flavor.

3 medium to large sized ripe tomatoes, chopped
1 medium sized onion, chopped
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
1 medium sized lime, juiced
1 red jalapeño, seeded and finely diced
1 green jalapeño, seeded and finely diced
1 tbsp minced garlic (I like the jarred stuff here because the flavor is not as pungent)
1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
1 tsp kosher salt

Mix all together in a bowl, adjust seasonings to taste and adjust where necessary. Dish is better after allowed to rest so flavors can combine together.

Enjoy!

IMG_0419[1]

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] (I used Sargento Artisan Mexican blend) Burrito size flour tortillas Homemade or good store-bought pico Chopped lettuce Sour cream and/or guacamole as desired Sautéed bell peppers and onions (as if for […]

Pingback by Cinco de Mayo in a Cinch « Ganache




Leave a Reply

