Ganache


The Down and Dirty
August 3, 2009, 1:41 am
Filed under: Main Dishes | Tags: , , ,

I have a confession: I like easy meals. There, I said it…it’s over…

For one who loves to cook, I think that people automatically assume that I love complicated dishes. To a certain degree, this is true. I like to labor in my kitchen pouring over a dish that I know later will be my reward. As Alton Brown says “your patience will be rewarded.” I do believe this is true…

But some days, I just want my reward to come early. I just want to eat; I don’t want to cook. On the days where I’m lazy, or busy, or just flat tired, I want to be able to throw something together, forget about it, and, by the way, have it taste good too.

That’s where this dish comes in…It’s down and dirty, quick and easy. Almost as easy as they come: 10 minute prep, one hour cook time…and voila! A homemade dish for the family in no time, and no effort…

It’s called Fluffy Chicken…I originally found the recipe via cooks.com, but I have tweaked the dish slightly for ease and to add flavors that I enjoy. It’s aromas fill the house, calling your family to the dinner table. Please make this soon…and add it to your repertoire…your family (and your sanity) will thank you.

Fluffy Chicken
adapated from a Cooks.com recipe

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, thawed
3/4 cup white rice
1 pkg dry onion soup mix
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 “soup can full” of milk – approximately 1 to 1/2 cups
a few sprigs of fresh thyme, leaves stripped OR 1 tsp dried italian seasoning
Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper
Extra-virgin olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 350. Pour rice into a large mixing bowl. Add cream of mushroom soup, then fill the empty can to the top with milk. Pour into mixing bowl. Add 1/2 of the package of the onion soup mix. Add a few grinds of black pepper. Mix to combine.

2. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with no-stick spray. Pour in your rice mixture. Lay chicken breasts over rice mix, evenly spacing the chicken. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Sprinkle remaining amount of dry soup mix over the top of the chicken breasts. Drizzle each chicken breast with a slight amount of olive oil (this will help with taste and browning later).

3. Cover the baking dish with aluminum foil and seal the edges well. Bake dish at 350 for 1 hour. After the 1 hour mark, remove the aluminum foil and continue to bake for 15 minutes more, or until chicken is browned on top.

4. Cool, serve each person with a chicken breast and a scoop of rice on the side, and watch your family don their “wow” faces as they enjoy.

Serves 4

IMG_0429

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

