Ganache


88 Calorie Brownies
August 4, 2009, 12:50 am
Filed under: Dessert | Tags: , ,

I’m a big chocoholic. So, you can imagine my suprise when my sister-in-law gave me one of the most gooey chocolate-y brownies I’ve eaten and told me it only had 88 calories…

Did you grin? Did you get excited; do a little wiggle in your seat? I did…

I’m not sure where this recipe orginiated. I do know that she found it on a blog of some television star’s (She’s an avid People Magazine reader, too). But, I do know that this recipe is a staple in my household. I can almost find myself eating the whole pan straight out of the oven. I have to restrain myself, and that’s no joke.

On a side note: These brownies are not as dense as normal brownies, due to the egg whites and lower amount of flour. They also are very gooey…so the toothpick trick to see if they are done doesn’t really work. But, they will be completely cooked through in the time designated, promise (unless your oven doesn’t deliver consistent temperature for whatever reason). Also, because the cocoa powder takes a main stage, please, please, for whatever it’s worth…don’t use cheap cocoa powder. It’s your main flavor here, so you want good dutch processed cocoa powder. I suggest something like Ghirardelli, or along those lines. Also, don’t omit the coffee! If you can’t find instant espresso powder, just pour in a tbsp or so of cold leftover coffee from in the morning. It wont give you coffee flavor, but what it does do is bring out the inherent chocolatiness of the dish and make it taste even more…well, chocolate-y…

Which is just what a chocoholic in search of chocolate therapy needs. So for all you other chocoholics out there…here’s your dose of daily medicine. Hope you enjoy; and, if you find yourself standing over the stove eating the pan of warm brownies with a fork until the pan is empty, I’ll never tell…

88 Calorie Brownies
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp of vanilla extract
4 egg whites
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup unbleached flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp instant espresso powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
Butter flavored cooking spray

1. Preheat oven to 350. Mix, using a whisk or spatula, applesauce, egg whites, vanilla, and sugar, until well combined. Add flour, cocoa powder, espresso powder, baking powder, and salt. Stir mixture until just combined and no lumps remain.

IMG_0431

2. Spray an 8×8 baking dish with cooking spray. Pour in batter. Sprinkle chocolate chips evenly across the top. I’ve also been known to add 1/4 cup of shaved almonds on top for crunch, or I’ve also subsituted mini m and m’s. Have fun with it, and adjust for your tastes.

3. Bake 20-22 minutes. Allow to cool for 5 minutes.

Serves 12

IMG_0435

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh my goodness!! Made these the other day. Substituted one egg yolk for a white, then used half white sugar and half brown sugar!!! They are so good!!! Yummy yummy!!

Comment by nursesegars




Leave a Reply

