Ganache


As Promised…
September 26, 2009, 5:26 pm
Filed under: Food and Recipes, Main Dishes | Tags: , , ,

So here we are in Memphis, almost another week later, and it has still been raining everyday except for today…today is sunshine, partly cloudy, and 89 degrees. Maybe we are well on our way to fall now. Maybe the grey skies have passed. I hope…

And, another week later, I’m back with those meatballs I promised you. Those kind that an italian grandmother would make in Italy. Because this recipe literally comes from an Italian grandmother, and the recipe is 100 years old. I appreciate those kinds of recipes, and I appreciate eating a traditional Italian dinner and dreaming that I could possibly be sitting in Italy eating this at a grandmother’s house… In fact, I would rather be sitting there, next to a winery, with homemade Italian food than here in rainy Memphis. But I guess that’s another matter…

So here’s the recipe. I kind of use approximations on ingredients since the recipe calls for ounce measures and I don’t have a kitchen scale. But either way, these are delicious on their own, or nestled in your favorite pasta application. They create a wonderful aroma in your home, and leave delicious pockets of flavor in your mouth. The batch is big, so you could save and freeze some for later if needed. Of course, in my house, they never make it that long…

Grandma Maroni’s 100 Year Old Meatball Recipe
Courtesy of foodtv.com, from Throwdown with Bobby Flay

photo4

I made some substitutions in this recipe…I used a couple pieces of sandwich bread, I used 2 percent milk, and I used parmesan. Mostly, because this is just what I had on hand. The meatballs were still delicious.

1 lb ground chuck
4 ounces dried breadcrumbs
4 large eggs
4 ounces whole milk
6 ounces grated romano cheese
3 ounces grated spanish onion
2 ounces finely diced garlic
2 ounces finely chopped italian parsley
2 ounces finely chopped fresh basil

1. Preheat oven to 350

2. Combine garlic, italian parsley, basil, onion, cheese, and breadcrumbs in a food processor and pulse until well broken down and combined.

photo1

photo2first

3. In a bowl (I used my kitchen-aid mixer), combine ground beef, eggs, milk, and seasoning mixture. Mix until well combined, but be careful not to overly mix. If the mixture seems too loose, you can add a little more breadbrumbs.

photo2

4. Roll out meatballs about the size of a golfball. I used a cookie scoop to make sure all were even. Lay meatballs out on a parchment lined baking sheet.

photo3

5. Bake 35-40 minutes, or until done. In my oven, and with a slightly smaller cookie scoop, it only took me about 30 minutes. Eat in your favorite application.

photo5

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

