Ganache


Bowlful of Comfort
October 30, 2009, 1:55 am
Filed under: Food and Recipes, Main Dishes | Tags: , ,

I’m not normally a soup kind of girl…but I have been craving them something serious lately. Chicken Tortilla Soup, Potato Soup, Tomato Soup, and Chili…they’ve all been calling my name, thus have been cooked on my stove in the past couple weeks. I don’t know if it’s the weather (Memphis is still seeing rain) or season that has been causing this craving, or just a craving for something easy and out of the norm, but my husband and I have greatly benefited.

I originally found my chili recipe in a Southern Living Cookbook entitled the “Ultimate Quick and Easy.” I recieved the cookbook as a birthday gift the year after I married my husband. Only a few recipes have stuck with me from the book, but the ones that have remain on my go-to list of cooking to this day. The chili is extremely simple, comes together in around 30 minutes, and my husband claims it tastes just like Wendy’s chili, which can’t be a bad thing. I usually whip up a pot with my favorite boxed corn muffins and settle down for a good home-cooked bowful of comfort sure to please.

Chunky Beef Chili
Courtesy of, and slightly adapted from, Southern Living, Ultimate Quick and Easy Cookbook

photo

INGREDIENTS:
1 lb ground beef (I use an 80 percent lean)
1 large onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
3 tsp minced garlic
1 can (16 ounce) chili beans in mild sauce
1/2 cup ketchup
1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1 (32 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
2 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
1 teaspoon black pepper

1. Cook beef and next four ingredients in a large dutch oven over medium heat until meat is browned and crumbled and onions are opaque.

2. Add remaining ingredients to the pot, stir to combine, bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Simmer uncovered for about 25 minutes.

This recipe is also delicious made in the crock pot. Simply brown meat and add to the crock pot, add veggies and remaining ingredients and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] in a good mood. It is fabulous with chili, stew, and mexican food. A wonderful recipe for chili is here. I pretty much throw all of my ingredients for chili in a pot, stir and simmer for several hours. […]

Pingback by Mexican Cornbread « Tea with SB




Leave a Reply

