Ganache


The Good News
January 18, 2010, 2:07 am
Filed under: Food and Recipes, Main Dishes | Tags: ,

The good news is that I’m feeling like my old self again. Still some residual coughing, but other than that, this cold has finally kicked the bucket. Many thanks to my wonderful husband for taking such great care of me while I was sick…

When I was little, one of my great comfort foods during the winter was potato soup, whether I was sick or not. My dad would make it several times throughout the season, and I never quite grew tired of it. After marrying, it was one of those dishes, for whatever reason, that I never made. Partly, because I just enjoyed having it made for me, and partly because I had no clue how to make it myself.

Then, I stumbled upon this recipe. Little did I know how easy potato soup could be! Since discovering this recipe, I’ve now made it twice, and each time it satisfied. It’s not my dad’s potato soup that I grew up with, but it is quite delicious. It’s creamy, comforting, and one that I look forward to having many leftover bowls of during the upcoming days of work…

Baked Potato Soup
Courtesy of Cooking Light

Note: If you are afraid of sour cream (as my husband is), please, please, please don’t leave it out! It doesn’t give the soup a sour cream taste, but instead gives it a sort of rich thickness and helps to bring out the potato flavor. Also, I add much more pepper. I like things peppery. If you ever met my parents, you’d understand. The amount of pepper here is what the recipe called for, but it’s wonderful with a little extra cracked black pepper.

INGREDIENTS:
4 baking potatoes (about 2 1/2 lbs)
2/3 cup all purpose flour
6 cups 2% reduced fat milk
1 cup (4 ounces) reduced-fat extrasharp cheddar cheese, divided
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon of fresh ground pepper
1 cup reduced-fat sour cream
3/4 cups chopped green onions, divided
6 bacon slices, cooked and crumbled (I just used the real bacon bits as garnish, and it tasted just as well)

1. Pierce potatoes with a fork and bake at 400 degrees for one hour, or until tender. Cool, peel, and coarsely mash.

2. In a large pot, place measured flour. Gradually add milk, stirring with a whisk until blended. Add salt and pepper. Cook over medium heat until thick and bubbly (about 8 minutes). Add mashed potatoes and 3/4 cup cheese. Stir until cheese melts. Remove from heat.

3. Stir in sour cream and 1/2 cup onions. Place back over low heat for 10 minutes, or until thoroughly heated, but do not boil. Ladle soup into bowls, garnish with extra cheese, sour cream, onions, and bacon or bacon bits as desired.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

