Ganache


Lunchbox Goodies
March 21, 2010, 10:30 pm
Filed under: Appetizers, Food and Recipes, Snacks | Tags: , , ,

I love taking something to lunch that I look forward to throughout the day. Not only does it help me get through stressful days, but it also gives me a nice little break midday, a small amount of time to refuel and plug away at the latter half of the day.

Hummus is not something that I have given much thought to until about a year ago. I was watching an Ina Garten episode and she was making a Mediterranean style meal, and she served hummus with warm grilled pita bread. I knew I liked pita bread, but had never tried hummus. The texture and color never seemed to be too appealing to me, but, I had to go to the grocery store later in the day, and I wanted to know what it tasted like, so I picked up some. I was instantly hooked. The flavor was outstanding.

Now, imagine how wonderful something (anything) tastes, and imagine how much better it tastes when it’s homemade and fresh. So is hummus. I’ve always liked the kind you can buy at the store; I never knew any different. That is, until this recipe. And the even better part? Hummus can be kind of expensive in the store, and homemade is much more economical. Two bangs for your buck. Or, I guess, you could make that three. Packed with protien and good nutrients, hummus is a smart snack and lunchbox filler. I like to keep it on hand for snack cravings throughout the day.

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
Recipe slightly adapted from Cooking Light

This is by far my favorite kind of hummus, although I’ll take it any way I can get a hold of it. Serve with warm pita bread, pita chips, or an assortment of veggies to dip with and you’ll be set. Hope you enjoy!

INGREDIENTS:
1 red bell pepper
1 tbsp tahini paste (this is a paste made from sesame seeds, and you can find this next to the olives at your local grocery store; it’s kind of expensive the first go around, but it will last you through a lifetime of batches of hummus)
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp dried oregano
1 garlic clove, quartered
1 (19 oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
zest and juice of 1 large lemon

1. Position an oven rack to the setting right below the broiler and preheat your broiler to high.

2. Cut your bell pepper in half lengthwise, removing seeds and membranes. Place your pepper halves skin side up on a baking dish, season lightly with salt, pepper, and olive oil. Place under broiler until bell pepper skins are blackened, around 10 minutes, depending on your oven. After blackened, take bell pepper halves, place them in a ziplock bag immediately, and seal. Allow to steam for around 10 minutes, then remove from the bag and peel the blackened skin off. You could also place them in a small bowl and seal with plastic wrap. Whatever works for you.

3. In a food processor combine all ingredients and process until smooth. You may have to stop a few times and scrape down the sides and scrape up the bottom of the food processor until all is combined. Chill, and serve with your favorite sides.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] on sandwiches or burgers, or you can use them as a base for other dishes, like this ratatouille or hummus. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Her First (Disney) Words…and other stuff!OH MY […]

Pingback by Playing Favorites « Ganache

[…] of my favorite snacks is hummus. I’ve blogged about it before. Something about the tangy, smooth, subtle nature of the dish draws me in for more. It’s […]

Pingback by Hummus Love « Ganache




Leave a Reply

