Ganache


Nearly There

I can hardly believe that in a few short weeks that this blog will be one year old, I’ll be 25, and that I’ll be married for three years. Time flies. I think that it was just yesterday that I was removing the Christmas decorations and packing them up. Heck, it seems like yesterday when I was putting UP the Christmas decorations… and, it seems as though the older I become, the more that life speeds up and passes us by, sometimes painfully so, which makes me more determined than ever to enjoy life day-to-day.

Which is why, that on a day when Memphis is being drown and blown away, that I got soaked trudging to my garden to clip a few herbs and pull a few things from the fridge that remind me of a sunny spring day.

I’ve also been revisiting old recipes lately…partly because many of the recipes on here are part of the reiptoire that I can pull out blindly when I’ve been stuffed up, sick, and lost all sense of taste (insert special shout out to seasonal spring allergies here). They are reliable, tasty, and easy to make in a pinch. Like the caprese salad featured here. Or the chicken tamale casserole that has saved many a weeknights for me. These scones were easily transformed into a spring wonder with a little addition of a 1/2 cup frozen blueberries into the dough.

And, I just can’t get enough of this panzanella salad. It’s easy, quick, and seriously eats like a meal. Each have been religiously paired with a glass of ice cold lemon sweet tea.

But back to today: guacamole. Something about spring always places me in the mood for fresh mexican food. I’m not exactly sure if it’s the use of fresh ingredients, or the fact that many a dishes can be grilled up and prepared outside, or if it’s the fact that mexican food is a part of me and that I always crave it. But, whatever the reason, guacamole is not exempt. There are numerous ways of prepping guacamole, but my favorite has the bright crisp acidity yielded from limes and the fresh pungent punch from cilantro and red onion. Here’s my personal favorite, hope you enjoy and savor a little of spring today, too!

Homemade Guacamole
Courtesy of Yours Truly

2 ripe avocados (soft enough to yield to a slight pressure squeeze, but not so soft that they are mushy)
1/4 cup finely diced red onion
2 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro
1/2 ripe fresh tomato, chopped
zest of 1 lime
juice of 1 large lime, or juice of 1 and 1/2 small limes
couple dashes of tabasco sauce
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

Slice open the avocados and remove the pit. Chop coarsely. Add avocados, lime zest, and juice to a bowl and toss to cover the avocado with the lime juice. This keeps them from browning. Add remaining ingredients and mash with a fork until desired consistency is met and all is well combined. Taste, reseason with salt and peper if necessary. Serve.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Burrito size flour tortillas Homemade or good store-bought pico Chopped lettuce Sour cream and/or guacamole as desired Sautéed bell peppers and onions (as if for […]

Pingback by Cinco de Mayo in a Cinch « Ganache




Leave a Reply

