Ganache


Relief
November 14, 2010, 1:49 am
Filed under: Food and Recipes, Main Dishes | Tags: , ,

Wow. This past week was busy, scary, and ended in a very grateful and reflective manner.

Sunday I started having migraines (or what I thought to be migraines) including changes in vision. I had three episodes that landed me in the doctor’s office and all of a sudden in the middle of an MRI machine having myself scanned for possible causes. It’s safe to say, that while having an MRI, one can contemplate life, and things left undone.

Luckily, by Friday, we found out I was healthy, and truly just having migraines. I came home from work yesterday and felt like these next four days off needed to be spent cooking without inhibition and enjoying my blessings and all that surrounded me.

So, I’ve been cooking up a storm today, including homemade pizza and a new dish, courtesy of Giada de Laurentiis. I saw her make this recipe a while back on her show, Giada at Home, and thought that I should try my hand at it. Then, I went about life and completely forgot about it. I was reminded of it yesterday, while relaxing on the couch, and picked up the few ingredients I needed while making my weekly trip to the grocery store.

The ups: it’s cheap, quick, easy, and tastes fabulous. Like a true Italian meal. And, the pasta cooks in the oven, no need to boil noodles! The downs: I can’t really find any. I paired it with a salad, and we ate to our heart’s content. My husband made the comment “it’s like comfort food,” and I’d have to agree.

You’re silly if you don’t try this soon. There’s no reason not to. It’s a perfect quick weeknight family meal.

Pasta alla Formiana
Recipe only slightly adapted from Giada de Laurentiis
Serves 4, 5 WW points a serving

INGREDIENTS:
8 ounces whole wheat penne, uncooked
1 28 ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 clove fresh garlic
1/4 cup dried oregano
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp black pepper
2 tsp kosher salt
4 vine-ripened tomatoes

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. In a food processor or blender, combine canned tomatoes, garlic, pepper, salt, and oregano. Pour into a large bowl and mix with pasta.

2. Spray an 8 by 8 baking dish with non-stick cooking spray. Line the bottom and sides of the dish with slices of tomatoes. On top of the bottom layer, pour in noodle and tomato mixture. Top with remaining slices of tomatoes, slightly overlapping the top layer. Drizzle entire dish with olive oil.

3. Place casserole onto a lined baking dish; the casserole will bubble over slightly. Bake for one hour, or until pasta is cooked and casserole is browned on top.

4. Cool and allow to thicken slightly. Serve.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

howdy Ganache , i look your blog , this a nice blog and greatly. Great for everyone. a lot of and giada de laurentiis content. i will visit to read and review your blog.

Comment by รับทำ seo




Leave a Reply

