Ganache


Traditional Family Meal
February 12, 2011, 10:40 pm
Filed under: Food and Recipes, Main Dishes | Tags: , ,

When I was growing up, one of my favorite family meals was stuffed bell peppers. I’ve tried making them before, but they didn’t really turn out the way that I remembered them when I was younger. In fact, I had kind of given up on them a little.

That was, until the new Weight Watchers Complete Cookbook.

Have I mentioned I have a cookbook obsession? You could have guessed…

But anyway, flipping through, I found a recipe for stuffed peppers. Years of loving stuffed bell peppers returned to me, and I decided that I was going to plan to make them again. Admittedly, I know that my husband groaned, remembering the bricks that I had made in my previous attempt years ago. However, these stuffed peppers were delicious! The filling was light and fluffy, felt like a substantial meal, and was so flavorful!

I served them alongside vegetables for a filling, family dinner. These would be great to make on a weekend, when you have your other family members to pitch in with the prep work!

Stuffed Bell Peppers
Recipe slightly adapted from The New Complete Cookbook from Weight Watchers
Makes 4 servings, 5 WW Points Plus per serving

1/2 pound lean ground beef (I used 90/10)
1 cup cooked brown rice
1 onion, finely chopped
1/2 cup frozen corn kernels (you could use frozen peas if desired, the recipe originally called for these, but I like corn better)
1/4 cup grated parmesean cheese
2 tbsp tomato paste
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried oregano
4 green bell peppers, tops cut off and seeded
1 cup tomato sauce
salt, pepper, and water as needed

1. Preheat your oven to 350.

2. In a large saute pan, brown ground beef and onions. Season with salt and pepper as cooking. Drain.

3. Add drained beef mixture to a bowl. Add rice, corn, parmesean, tomato paste, garlic, thyme, oregano. Add salt and pepper to taste. Spoon mixture evenly into the 4 bell peppers. Stand the peppers in a shallow baking dish. Pour tomato sauce evenly over, season again with salt and pepper to taste. Add about 1-2 inches of water to the bottom of the baking dish.

4. Cover the casserole with aluminum foil and bake 30 minutes. Remove foil, baste peppers with the tomato sauce, and return to the oven another 20 minutes. Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

